The trucking industry is governed by a series of complex federal and state laws. When a truck is engaged in interstate travel, federal regulations will apply. When a truck’s travel is confined within state lines, then state regulations will take precedence.
In general, most of Georgia’s state trucking laws mirror the federal laws established by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. There is one main difference between state and federal trucking laws, and it deals with the minimum age limit for truck drivers.
According to federal trucking laws, commercial truck drivers must be at least 21 years old. This minimum age requirement only pertains to truck drivers traveling through multiple states making interstate deliveries on their routes.
However, Georgia state trucking laws have established the minimum age for drivers to operate commercial trucks at 18, provided the driver has an instruction permit or a valid Georgia commercial driver’s license. Truck drivers under the age of 21 must remain in the state while transporting goods and making deliveries.
If you have been injured in a truck accident, you may be entitled to receive compensation for your damages. Atlanta truck accident lawyer Laurie Robbins has more than 30 years of experience handling these claims, and she knows all of the complex federal and state laws which govern truck accident cases. This extensive knowledge will help give you the edge you need as you seek compensation for your injuries.
Please contact Robbins & Associates today to schedule your free truck accident consultation. Laurie Robbins serves clients in Atlanta, Georgia.